Skip to main content
search

It’s time for a glimpse of the future.

Doc from Back to the Future holding jumper cables with the caption, "Ready!"

The NYC Department of Education’s official 2021–2022 NYC Public School Calendar is HERE!

Featured in 10 languages, including Spanish, Chinese, Arabic, our official 2021–22 calendar includes all of the important dates that City families need to know for the upcoming school year, including the first day of school, Winter Recess, parent teacher conference periods, State testing dates, and more.

This year’s dates of interest include:

  • First Day of the School Year for Students
    Monday, September 13, 2021
  • Yom Kippur (Schools Closed)
    Thursday, September 16, 2021
  • Italian Heritage Day—Indigenous Peoples’ Day (Schools Closed)
    Monday, October 11, 2021
  • Thanksgiving Recess (Schools Closed)
    Thurs., Nov. 25–Fri., Nov. 26, 2021
  • Winter Recess (Schools Closed)
    Fri., Dec. 24–Fri., Dec. 31, 2021
  • Midwinter Recess (Schools Closed)
    Mon., Feb. 21–Fri., Feb. 25, 2022
  • Spring Recess (Schools Closed)
    Fri., Apr. 15–Fri., Apr. 22, 2022
  • Memorial Day (Schools Closed)
    Monday, May 30, 2022
  • Juneteenth (Schools Closed)
    Monday, June 20
  • Last Day of School for Students
    Monday, June 27, 2022

____

The complete 2021–22 NYC Public Schools Calendar is available on the DOE website at your convenience. Additionally, there are printable versions available in 10 languages—visit our official Calendar page for more information.

As you plan for the upcoming school year, please check with your schools for information regarding other important dates and events, as they may not be reflected in our official calendar.

DOE staff members should refer to the DOE’s Central Calendar (DOE employee log-in required) for important dates next year, including professional development days, and staff holidays.

As with last year, please note that “snow days”—or days in which school buildings close due to weather-related emergencies—will become remote instructional days during the 2021–22 school year. 

On behalf of the DOE, we wish all of our students and staff members a safe and rewarding school year!


Banner photo by Александар Цветановић. Used under Creative Commons license. Original can be found on Pexels.

The Morning Bell

Official blog for the NYC Department of Education, home of over 1.1 million students across 1,800+ schools

Close Menu

NYC Department of Education, 2019