EDITOR’S NOTE: This post has been updated to reflect the DOE’s changes to the 2019–2020 school calendar. Winter Recess is now scheduled to begin on Monday, December 23, 2019. This is a change from the previously announced Winter Recess start date of Tuesday, December 24.


 

GIF of animated character flipping through a planner with "Nothin'" Written on the Agenda

Don’t let this be you! Check out the DOE’s 2019–20 NYC Schools Calendar, and start planning ahead!

Ready for the new school year?

As we begin to prepare for the first day of school on Thursday, September 5, 2019, take a moment to mark some key dates from the upcoming school year, courtesy of the Department of Education’s official 2019–2020 NYC Schools Calendar:

First Day of School:
Thursday, September 5, 2019
(note: half-day for all Pre-K programs)

Rosh Hashanah (schools closed):
Monday, September 30—Tuesday, October 1, 2019

Columbus Day (schools closed):
Monday, October 14, 2019

Election Day (schools closed):
Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Veterans Day Observed (schools closed):
Monday, November 11, 2019

Thanksgiving Recess (schools closed):
Thursday, November 28—Friday, November 29, 2019

Winter Recess:
Monday, December 23, 2019—Wednesday, January 1, 2020

Midwinter Recess (schools closed):
Monday, February 17—Friday, February 21, 2020

Spring Recess:
Thursday, April 9—Friday, April 17, 2020

Last Day of School:
Friday, June 26, 2020

Cross off a Date on the Calendar

Wonder how many days are left until the First Day of School? The DOE’s 2019–2020 NYC School Calendar will tell all!

You can check out the 2019–2020 NYC Schools Calendar in multiple ways, including:

As you plan for next year, please check with your schools for information about additional dates and events, as they may not be reflected in the DOE’s official 2019–2020 calendar. Also, check out our “Calendar Talk” subcategory here on The Morning Bell for all NYC Schools Calendar-related updates, reminders, and schedule changes.

DOE employees should refer to the City’s 2019–2020 DOE Central Calendar (login required) for important events and holidays that are not reflected on the 2019–2020 NYC Schools Calendar.

Happy planning!

 

The Morning Bell

Official blog for the NYC Department of Education, home of over 1.1 million students across 1,800+ schools

One Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

NYC Department of Education, 2019